The history of the Masonic Tavern
Built on the corner of Church Street and King Edward Parade by George Beddoes in 1866, the Masonic site has a rich and vibrant history deep in the fabric of the early New Zealand colony. Back in the day, Church Street was Devonport’s main street before moving to its current location on Victoria Street. Not only did Mr Beddoes build the Tavern but he played a lead role in developing the ship building industry in Devonport, building some of the best vessels ever built in NZ from across the road on the rocks. He also had a large part to play in establishing the ferry services between Auckland and Devonport; the first school on the shore; and also he was involved in the first form of local government for the area. The Masonic Tavern still stands today and these pictures reflect its journey through time to the present.